top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTodd Gordon

#3 - California


Todd, Deb, David and Tish


Morro Bay Golf Course Scorecard


Deb and I traveled to Santa Maria, California for a week to spend with her sister Cheryl and her husband Bruce. It was a great week before the 2021-2022 school year got started. We did a lot of different things including:



On Wednesday, August 4 Deb and I went to Morro Bay, a community on the Pacific Ocean about 50 minutes up the coast from Santa Maria where I enjoyed a round of golf at Morro Bay Golf Course. It was a cold and damp morning and we had a tee off time of 11:00 AM.


I was fortunate to be paired with a very nice and friendly couple, David and Tish Breda. Small world because I always tease about how my brother in law Bruce is actually a rocket scientist. He works for a company that is contracted by the military and works out of Vandenberg Air Force Base. Before we even teed off but we discovered that David is a rocket scientist as well. We got a good laugh out of that. I now know two of them.


The setting of the golf course was beautiful. It was a big foggy out toward the ocean early in the round but it started to clear off for the last few holes and it turned out very nice. The course is a public course but very well maintained. It was very impressive. The fairways were cut very short and the greens....oh my, were they fast. Lightening fast and I could tell on the practice green that everything rolled toward the ocean even if it didn't look like. There were a couple of times that I didn't trust that instinct and hit some awful putts. The quickness of the greens also made me very timid and I never did get a real good feel.



I did hit some good shots but not nearly enough of them. Deb summed it up well though when I was a little frustrated and said "I can't find a way to score today" when she added "it's really not about the score". Yeah, she was right. I kept it under 50 and there will be better rounds on this journey. It will always be about the people I meet along the way and the beauty of God's creation that I get to see. Both of those things were spot on at Morro Bay.


My #1 Golf Partner





47 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page